Readerwave’s Blog

Repeat from January…..

Posted on: July 18, 2009

iPhones, Hurricanes and Weatherangels…

Posted by: weatherangel on: January 31, 2009 

So, I’ve come into this with really no information on what I want to write.  Just the expectation from my Mom that I should write something   So I am here to write something.  Something.

Okay, task one done!

I’ve been helping my Mom set up her first blog.  It’s been fun, and the awesome part is that she can finally do so much on her own!  I tried to teach my Mom about computers back in the 1980’s, when I was in middle and high school, learning about computers, bulletin board systems (BBSes) and all the cool things you could do with a computer.  It was only after she met my Dad that she finally wanted to really understand – and I’ve done my best to teach her what I can. She’s been a great student of technology, especially since it changes so fast! I think it has finally gotten “easy enough” for most people to handle, instead of only the geeky people like me.

Recently I have discovered that I absolutely LOVE wordpress.  For quite a while I didn’t understand the love affair with it, but now that it has matured, even my Mom can use it with a fair amount of ease, and only a few questions!  I’ve been able to point her at the docs (not doctors), and she’s found them, read them and understands them (I think).  It’s killer! And that’s Kudos to the wordpress team!

I will probably be jumping on here from time to time, helping out my Mom, and getting things set up.  I may even write a few book reviews, which I’ve wanted to do anyway, but never had a place to put them

Mom wanted me to mention something about what I do professionally also… I’ve been writing Web Applications for 13 years now – which in itself is hard to believe! My most recent accomplishment is being a part of a two woman programming team, and writing Hurricane for the iPhone and iPod Touch. It has been a great challenge, and a lot of fun to watch something we created not only come to life, but be appreciated.

I suppose I should mention that my favorite authors, since this is a book related site. They are Johanna Lindsey, Madeline Hunter, Elizabeth Boyle and Elaine Coffman.  I can thank my Mom’s book store for that one — she handed me my first Johanna Lindsey book about 3 years ago and I fell in LOVE with her writing style, and eagerly await each new Malory searies book!  I’ve spent MANY a night up almost all night reading instead of sleeping.

If there’s anything you would like to see here, just let us know!  And if you are looking for a book you can’t seem to find, just let my Mom know!  She will do her best to track down the book for you – she is extremely good at finding those hard to find books, so just ask!

Edit this entry.

3 Responses to “iPhones, Hurricanes and Weatherangels…”

Leave a Reply

